State Chamber’s Leadership Nebraska Announces New Class

State Chamber’s Leadership Nebraska Announces New Class

Wednesday, May 10, 2017 - 3:45pm

LINCOLN – The Nebraska Chamber of Commerce and Industry has announced the members of its new Leadership Nebraska Class.  This year’s class is the tenth in the program’s history.

Leadership Nebraska was founded in 2006 to identify current and emerging leaders throughout the state, enhance their leadership skills and deepen their knowledge of the challenges and opportunities facing Nebraska. 


Participants have been selected from different regions of the state and possess varied backgrounds and diverse talents.  All candidates have demonstrated an abiding interest in Nebraska and its future.


The program consists of six sessions covering a broad range of key Nebraska issues including economic development, health care, education, agriculture, government and policy development.  Class X begins with an orientation in June and will conclude in February 2018 with a commencement ceremony in Lincoln.  Sessions will be conducted throughout various locations of the state.


Barry Kennedy, president of the Nebraska Chamber, said: “Graduates of Leadership Nebraska have a broader understanding of our state and are better prepared to move into leadership responsibilities, whether in their career, their community or at the state level.”


Listed below are the 30 Nebraskans selected to participate in Leadership Nebraska’s Class X, along with the class member’s employer and city.


Paula Alder, Daycos, Norfolk;

Jason Bennett, Black Hills Energy, Lincoln;

Kim Betancur, Ayars & Ayars, Inc, Lincoln;

Jeremiah Blake, State Senator Matt Williams, Lincoln;

John Dale, Ash Grove Cement Company, Louisville;

Lucas Dart, University of Nebraska Foundation, Kearney;

Jim Ediger, Hamilton Telecommunications, Aurora;

Jared Gerdes, Ariens Company, Auburn;

Jason Gustafson, Wells Fargo Bank, Omaha;

Megan Hanefeldt, Knox County Development Agency, Center;

Randy Hawthorne, NonProfit Hub, Lincoln;

Kare Heilbrun, State Farm Kare Heilbrun Agency, Gering;

Alyssia Hernandez, State Farm Insurance, Lincoln;

Mitch Hunt, Huntrex LLC, Broken Bow;

Theresa Klein, Rural Futures Institute at UNL, Wahoo;

Michael Krings, Obstetricians & Gynecologists, PC, Hastings;

Wyatt Leehy, Great Plains Communications, Blair;

John McHargue, Pinnacle Bank, Grand Island;

Jared Meays, The Harry A. Koch Co., Omaha;

Chad Podolak, Nebraska Public Power District, Columbus;

Terry Rasmussen, NUCOR Steel Nebraska, Norfolk;

Sandra Reding, Aksarben Foundation, Omaha;

Elizabeth Roetman, Economic Development Council of Buffalo County, Kearney;

Jodi Rowlett, State Farm Insurance, Lincoln;

Nicole Sedlacek, Nebraska Public Power District, O’Neill;

Quinn Texmo, JEO Consulting Group, Inc., Omaha;

Kiel VanderVeen, VanderVeen Financial Planning, Nebraska City;

Ben Watson, Chadron State College Foundation, Chadron;

Jon Watts, University of Nebraska-Kearney, Kearney;

Kim Weiss, First National Bank, Omaha.