2017 State Chamber Economic Outlook Summit

2017 State Chamber Economic Outlook Summit

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 - 11:45am

State Chamber Economic Outlook Summit
Embassy Suites Omaha-La Vista Conference Center
12520 Westport Parkway
La Vista, NE 

On November 29, 2017, the Nebraska Chamber will host an Economic Outlook Summit at the La Vista Embassy Suites Conference Center to spotlight opportunities and challenges facing Nebraska. The summit will begin at 11:45 a.m. and conclude by 3 p.m.  

Economic Development Summit

Nov. 29, 2017 – La Vista Conference Center


11:45 a.m.  – Welcome & Lunch

Noon – Remarks from Governor Pete Ricketts (invited)

12:10 p.m. – Panel: “Rural Nebraska Success Stories”

Moderator: Todd Foje, CEO - Great Plains Communications, Blair

·         Richard Montgomery, Managing Partner - Enhanced Capital Tax Credit; New Orleans, La.

·         Brent Comstock, tech entrepreneur and founder - Bcom Solutions, LLC; Auburn, Neb.

·         Norm Krug, CEO - Preferred Popcorn; Chapman, Neb.

1:00 p.m. – Break

1:10 p.m. – Panel: “The Importance of Business Incentives”

Moderator: Chad Denton, President – CFO Services, Omaha

·         Randy Thelen, Senior Vice President of Economic Development - Greater Omaha Chamber; Omaha, Neb.

·         Megan Lucas, CEO & Chief Economic Development Officer - Lynchburg Regional Business Alliance; Lynchburg, Va.

·         Dave Rippe, Executive Director - Hastings Economic Development Corporation; Hastings, Neb.

2:00 p.m. – Nebraska Economic Outlook

·         Eric Thompson, Director of University of Nebraska’s Bureau of Business Research, Professor of Economics; Lincoln, Neb.

2:40 p.m. – Panel: “Enhancing Nebraska’s Workforce Housing” 

Moderator: Gary Person, President and CEO of the North Platte Area Chamber and Development

·         Mark Hansen, President - West Gate Bank Mortgage; Lincoln, Neb.

·         Lara Huskey, Senior Vice President - Midwest Housing Development Fund; Lincoln, Neb.

·         Mike Morrow, Sales & Engineer Manager at BonnaVilla (division of Chief Industries); Grand Island, Neb.

3:30 p.m. – Adjourn